Cosmic Dancer: ‘Near Definitive’ Bolan Biography

IF I had to name one musician who has influenced and inspired me throughout my career it would have to be Marc Bolan, one of the most underrated artists in the history of rock.

And because he has not been given the credit he was due I have never lost my desire to make the case for a serious reassesment of his work and to share my enthusiasm for someone I consider to be unique.

I had written a slim biography of Marc, (‘Electric Warrior’ Omnibus Press 1982) when I was a teenager and several substantial articles for ‘Sounds’, ‘Record Mirror’ and ‘Uncut’ over the years, but it was only after having written the 30 books I have had published on other subjects in the last ten years or so that I felt that I could finally do justice to a subject that has haunted me since his untimely death.

Next month Tomahawk Press will publish ‘Cosmic Dancer’, a near definitive biography which includes interviews with many people who knew and worked with Marc who have not been interviewed until now, including Marc’s school friend Stephen Gold who finally reveals the truth about the legendary 2Is coffee bar performance, the Joe Meek audition and the Eddie Cochran episode!

Next month Tomahawk Press will publish ‘Cosmic Dancer’, a near definitive biography which includes interviews with many people who knew and worked with Marc who have not been interviewed until now, including Marc’s school friend Stephen Gold who finally reveals the truth about the legendary 2Is coffee bar performance, the Joe Meek audition and the Eddie Cochran episode! I also had the good fortune to interview a close friend of June and of course, I was granted some fascinating insights into Marc’s songs by June herself who was my manager in the early 80s. Other interviewees include producer Joe Boyd, John’s children members Andy Ellison and the late Chris Townson, artist and friend George Underwood (who created the cover of the book), Mickey Finn, Bill Legend, Paul Fenton, Herbie Flowers, Captain Sensible, Rolan Bolan and many more. These interviews were conducted over the course of 30 years and are interpersed with comments from Marc himself from the vast archive of interviews I collected from 73 onward. Plus I have included excerpts from record and concert reviews which show how Marc and the band were viewed at the time.

The book is illustrated with many rare and unpublished photographs as well as memorabillia including foriegn record covers, music press ads, tour programmes
etc

For more information visit www.tomahawkpress.com and click on the cover of the book.

I hope long term fans will find much they didn’t know before and potential new fans will discover an artist that wil bring them as much pleasure as he has to me.

Paul
About RealPaulRoland

PAUL ROLAND is a prolific recording artist, producer and author of more than 30 books. He has been spinning his musical tales against a backdrop of gothic rock, psych pop and, occasionally, baroque strings. He has been called 'Edgar Allen Poe of psych pop' and the 'Godfather of Steampunk'.

Posted on October 13, 2011, in Cosmic Dancer, Marc Bolan, Marc Bolan biography, Paul Roland, T Rex and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

